

Office of the Assessor

2022 Business Personal Property Declaration, 706-A Notice

See the back of this notice for additional instructions on how to complete the enclosed forms

Dear Business Property Owner or Preparer,

Maine law provides that the personal property associated with a business is subject to taxation. The tax is assessed annually in accordance with the requirements set forth in Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes § 601 & 706-A. Pursuant to MRS 36 § 706-A this letter is notice that you are required to provide a "true and perfect" list of your business personal property that is not exempt from taxation that you possessed on the first day of April.

Enclosed you will find the *Property Schedule Form 706-A*, please fill it out according to the included instructions. Your completed asset list must be returned either electronically or by mail to the Assessor's Office <u>no later than April 15, 2022</u>. All our filing forms are also available electronically on the Assessing Department website.

Under State statute, if you are in business on April 1, 2022, you are responsible for the entire year's personal property tax bill. If this declaration form is not completed and returned, an estimated assessment (growth factor) will be added to your assessment. If you have *never* filed, we will render an estimated assessment based on a comparable business. Under Maine Law, taxpayers who fail to respond or do not comply with this request forfeit the right to appeal their assessment. It is very important that you notify us in writing if your business has closed or relocated to avoid an assessment.

The Business Equipment Tax Exemption Program, aka "BETE" or "Betty" is an available property tax relief program. This is a 100% exemption program for qualifying assets. You must file a 706-A declaration and apply to receive the exemption. Assets listed on the BETE application should not be reported on the 706-A declaration. The BETE application, eligibility requirements and instructions are available at the Maine Revenue Services website or our website:

www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/tax-relief-credits-programs/property-tax-relief-programs/business-equipment-tax-program

Filing your asset list is the best way to assure an accurate assessment. The Assessor's Office is available to help; we encourage you to stop by, call or email us with questions. If you would like assistance compiling your asset list, we will gladly visit you at your place of business. We appreciate your cooperation and look forward to working with you.

Sincerely,

Karen Scammon, CMA-4, City Assessor

FORM 706-A FILING INSTRUCTIONS

All filers must submit a complete list of all business assets using the provided Property Schedule Form 706-A or a comparable substitute. Forms are available in word and excel versions on our website. Below is an example:

				Asset Type
Asset Type	Asset Description	Year	Original Cost	Subtotal by Year
F&F	5 Desks	2002	\$750.00	
F&F	10 Guest Chairs	2002	\$400.00	\$1,150.00
S	Exterior sign, 4 x 12	2003	\$1,240.00	\$1,240.00
С	Dell workstation (Ed's Office)	2014	\$2,200.00	
С	Wireless Router	2014	\$400.00	\$2,600.00
С	2 Lenovo Laptops	2015	\$3,700.00	\$3,700.00
M&E	Compressor	2010	\$1,130.00	
M&E	Tool Chest	2010	\$500.00	\$1,630.00

For forms and to see other filing samples, visit our website: http://www.auburnmaine.gov/pages/government/assessing

- List all assets that are used by your business, even if you consider those items to be worthless or "fully depreciated".
- Reportable assets include machinery and equipment, furniture and fixtures, computers, trailers, and signs. Any equipment that is leased should be included. See below, "leased equipment" for exceptions.
- Any equipment for which you paid an excise tax need <u>not</u> be reported. Examples include vehicles, aircraft and excised trailers. If you <u>did not</u> pay an excise tax on an item that is normally excised, then those items *must* be reported as personal property.
- Provide the original purchase date and the original purchase price of all assets. If you do not know the exact date or costyou may estimate. If you declare an asset to have little or no value, we may render an assessment based on a published book cost or another estimate.
- If the business has not added, removed, or replaced any business personal property since the previous year's filing you must still submit a complete itemized list of assets.

<u>HAVE YOU CLOSED</u> or <u>RELOCATED</u>? If the business has closed, moved, or sold after April 1, 2021 please return a <u>signed</u> declaration form or a letter with the following information, *as applicable*: 1) Date of closure. 2) If relocated, the new address and date of the move. 3) Name and address of the new owner.

<u>DUE DATE</u>: The declaration form 706-A must be returned to the Assessor's office by <u>April 15, 2022</u>. **We prefer electronic submissions**, but you may also return your filing in the US Mail. *If you require an extension*, please contact our office.

<u>LEASED EQUIPMENT</u>: You may be responsible for taxes attributed to leased equipment in your possession. If your lease term states a leasing company (lessor) is responsible for the business personal property tax, please provide the following information;

- 1. Name and address of the lessor, any contact name and current phone number and/or email address.
- 2. Provide an itemized list of the leased equipment either on the bottom of the Form 706-A or an attached sheet.
- 3. If a lease has been terminated, indicate if the equipment was returned to the lessor or another party. If you *purchased* or otherwise retained any leased asset, those assets should be included on your taxable asset list.

<u>Please note</u>: *Financed* equipment is <u>not</u> the same as *leased* equipment. Personal property that is financed through another company, such as a lender, should be listed as an asset on the 706-A form.

THE DECLARATION FORM MUST BE RETURNED, OR YOU FORFEIT YOUR RIGHT OF APPEAL. IF YOU FAIL TO SUBMIT A BUSINESS PERSONAL PROPERTY DECLARATION, THE ASSESSOR WILL RENDER AN ESTIMATED ASSESSMENT.

WHERE TO FILE DECLARATIONS: You may submit your filing by <u>e mail</u>, regular mail, fax or in-person to the following addresses:

Regular mail: City of Auburn, Assessing Department, 60 Court Street, Suite 104, Auburn, ME 04210

e mail: assessing@auburnmaine.gov Fax: 207-333-6625